

September 20th, 2021

PUBLIC ANNOUNCEMENT

NOTICE OF PRELIMINARY NOMINATION DAY RESULTS TOWN OF ONOWAY GENERAL ELECTION 2021

In reference to the above noted, please be advised that Nomination Day for the Town of Onoway General Election 2021 was concluded on September 20th, 2021. At the close of the nomination process ten (10) nomination papers had been submitted to, and accepted by, my office. Having received more nominations than there are vacancies in municipal office, and notwithstanding the provisions of Section 32 of the Local Authorities Election Act governing municipal elections in the province of Alberta which therein provides for withdrawing of nominations, I am providing this preliminary update for the information of concerned parties. These are not official results and may be subject to revision at the time of prescribed filing (i.e. if a nomination is withdrawn within 24 hours of the close of the Nomination Period). In my capacity as Returning Officer, I thereby issue the following announcement for the public record:

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN, that at the conclusion of Nomination Period for the Town of Onoway General Election 2021 ending at 12:00 noon on September 20th, 2021 the following nominations were accepted for the five (5) vacancies on municipal council:

CANDIDATES NOMINATED	VACANCIES TO
(September 20th, 2021)	BE FILLED
CONINX, Bridgitte	
DOKA, Sheila M.	
JOHNSON, Lisa Marie	
KWASNY, Lenard R.	5 (FIVE)
MICKLE, Jeffery (Jeff)	
MURRAY, Robin	
TONITA, Lynne	
TRACY, Judith Arlene	
WHITE, James (Jim)	
WINTERFORD, Robert Arthur	

IF, **AFTER** the prescribed time afforded in Section 32 of the Local Authorities Election Act for withdrawing of nominations passes, there remains more candidates than vacancies, the municipality will conduct an election as outlined in that notification. If an election is required, Election Day will be Monday October 18th, 2021, and additional details regarding times, location and voting opportunities will be shared in due course.

If you have any questions regarding the results of the nomination process, please feel free to contact the administration office for additional detail.

Sincerely,

Dwight Darren Moskalyk Returning Officer – General Election 2021 Town of Onoway

cc: Wendy Wildman, Chief Administrative Officer Diane Wannamaker, Substitute Returning Officer