2017 Election Information

The Town of Onoway received 5 nominations for the position of Councillor.  In alphabetical order:  Jeff Mickle, Wade Neilson, Patricia St. Hilaire, Lynne Tonita and Judith (Judy) Tracy are thereby acclaimed and there will not be an election.



NOMINATION DAY - Monday, September 18, 2017 from 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 noon at the Onoway Town Office Council Chambers


Running for Municipal Office in Alberta

Pecuniary Interest for Municipal Councillors

Nomination Paper and Candidate's Acceptance

Local Authorities Election Act

Qualification of Candidates 21 (1)  A person may be nominated as a candidate in an election under this Act if on nomination day the person (a) is eligible to vote in that election, (b) has been a resident of the local jurisdiction and the ward, if any, for the 6 consecutive months immediately preceding nomination day, and (c) is not otherwise ineligible or disqualified.

Eligibility to Vote 47 (1) A person is eligible to vote in an election held pursuant to this Act if the person (a) is at least 18 years old, (b) is a Candidate citizen, and (c) has resided in Alberta for the 6 consecutive months immediately preceding election day and the person's place of residence is located in the area on election day.



Tuesday, June 30, 2015